Behavioral Grooves Podcast

Jim Guszcza: Data Science AND Behavioral Science, New Wine in a New Bottle

Sept. 29, 2019

Jim Guszcza is the chief data scientist at Deloitte Analytics. His title paints a picture that he’s a total numbers geek. And that would be a fair, but single-dimensional assessment. What it doesn’t speak to is Jim’s passion for behavioral science and, more importantly, the collaboration of data science and behavioral science.

He makes a case for the application of behavioral science simply with this analogy: if we need help to see, we get eyeglasses. In so doing, we are using science and technology to help correct our faulty vision. But when it comes to correcting for our biases, we don’t turn to science and technology and that might improve our decision making. But we could. That’s where the collaboration between data science (or Big Data) and behavioral science come together: applying science and technology to decision making. And THAT was fascinating. 

In our discussion about music, we talked about Jim’s equal interest in a Dvorak string quartet as much as he is the in the soundtrack to “Wonder Boys” or a great jazz piano performance. He shared he has a penchant for small venues and small bands.

He then shared some tips about how to apply behavioral science to your job and your life. He focused on reading books and listening to podcasts as ways to become more educated on the topic and to help you apply behavioral science principles.

NOTE: Behavioral Grooves is celebrating our 100th episode in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on October 17, 2019 with authors Annie Duke and Jeff Kreisler. Our sponsors for the event include PeopleScience and Podbean and we want to thank them for helping us make this possible. If you’re unable to join us in person, we’ll be live streaming the event and we hope you’ll log in there! 

Links

Jim Guszcza: https://www2.deloitte.com/us/en/profiles/jguszcza.html

“Moneyball” Michael Lewis: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1301.Moneyball

“Clinical Versus Statistical Prediction” Paul Miele: https://psycnet.apa.org/record/2006-21565-000

Richard Thaler: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Thaler

Cass Sunstein: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cass_Sunstein

Daniel Kahneman: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Kahneman

Imposter syndrome: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome

Bounded Rationality: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bounded_rationality

Bounded Self-Control: https://www.economicsonline.co.uk/Behavioural_economics/Bounded_rationality_and_self_control.html

Craig Fox, UCLA: https://www.anderson.ucla.edu/faculty-and-research/management-and-organizations/faculty/fox

Intention Action Gap: https://www.tutor2u.net/economics/reference/behavioural-economics-the-intention-action-gap

Mike Green, Deloitte: https://www2.deloitte.com/us/en/insights/authors/g/michael-greene.html

Cathy Neil: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Weapons_of_Math_Destruction

Robert Cialdini, ASU: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Cialdini

“The Design of Everyday Things” Don Norman: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/840.The_Design_of_Everyday_Things

Tom Malone, MIT: https://cci.mit.edu/malone/

“Rockonomics” Alan Krueger: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/564519/rockonomics-by-alan-b-krueger/

“The Age of Surveillance Capitalism” Shoshana Zuboff: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26195941-the-age-of-surveillance-capitalism

“Deep Medicine” Eric Topol: https://www.basicbooks.com/titles/eric-topol/deep-medicine/9781541644649/

Stanford Human Centered AI: https://hai.stanford.edu/

Carnegie Mellon Social & Decision Sciences: https://www.cmu.edu/dietrich/sds/

Behavioral Scientist Ethical Checklist: https://behavioralscientist.org/behavioral-scientists-ethics-checklist/

 “Quiet” Susan Cain: https://www.quietrev.com/

“Thinking in Bets” Annie Duke: https://www.annieduke.com/

Herbert Simon: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herbert_A._Simon

 

Kurt Nelson: @motivationguru

Tim Houlihan: @thoulihan

100th Episode Event at Meetup: https://www.meetup.com/Philadelphia-Behavioral-Science-Meetup-Group/events/264495763/

100th Episode Event at Eventbrite: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/behavioral-grooves-100th-episode-event-tickets-73159537145

Behavioral Grooves: www.behavioralgrooves.com

PeopleScience: https://peoplescience.maritz.com/

Podbean: https://www.podbean.com 

 

Musical Links

Bob Dylan: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Dylan

Van Morrison: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Van_Morrison

Leonard Cohen: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Cohen

David MacDonald: https://www.msmnyc.edu/faculty/david-macdonald/

Arthur Schoenberg: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arnold_Schoenberg

Wigmore Hall: https://wigmore-hall.org.uk/

Dvorak String Quartet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DxtAHpYIXdU

Schumann String Quartet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iO4UhZuw7gQ

Vijay Iyer: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vijay_Iyer

Wonder Boys: https://www.discogs.com/Various-Wonder-Boys-Music-From-The-Motion-Picture/master/341271

Angus & Julia Stone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bHdPyp8onSI

Flora Cash: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzjMmwki1Fs

Echo and the Bunnymen: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Echo_%26_the_Bunnymen

The Cure: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cure

O.A.R.: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O.A.R.

Podparadise.com neither hosts nor alters podcast files. All content © its respective owners.