Weird Studies

Episode 130: Holiday Memories

Sept. 7, 2022

In August, 2022, JF and Phil flew to the UK to attend the Diverse Intelligences Summer Institute (DISI) at the University of St. Andrews and the Supernormal Festival in Oxfordshire. In addition to recording two live shows (to be released in the coming weeks), they encountered billiant minds, novel ideas, and arresting works of art that opened new avenues for thought. It's these encounters that anchor this conversation, which branches off to touch ideas such as the elusive ideal of intersciplinarity, Hakim Bey's temporary autonomous zone, the legacy of the 20th-century counterculture, the fate of revolutionary movements, non--human intelligences, and the weirdness of human thought. Header Image by RomitaGirl67 via Wikimedia Commons (https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Vintage_Malibu_Barbie_2.jpg#mw-jump-to-license). Listen to volume 1 (https://pierre-yvesmartel.bandcamp.com/album/weird-studies-music-from-the-podcast-vol-1) and volume 2 (https://pierre-yvesmartel.bandcamp.com/album/weird-studies-music-from-the-podcast-vol-2) of the Weird Studies soundtrack by Pierre-Yves Martel (https://www.pymartel.com) Support us on Patreon (https://www.patreon.com/weirdstudies) Find us on Discord (https://discord.com/invite/Jw22CHfGwp) Get the new T-shirt design from Cotton Bureau (https://cottonbureau.com/products/can-o-content#/13435958/tee-men-standard-tee-vintage-black-tri-blend-s)! Get your Weird Studies merchandise (https://www.redbubble.com/people/Weird-Studies/shop?asc=u) (t-shirts, coffee mugs, etc.) Visit the Weird Studies Bookshop (https://bookshop.org/shop/weirdstudies) References Dial M for Musicology, Interdisciplinarity (https://dialmformusicology.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/disciplinarity/) Hakim Bey, The Temporary Autonomous Zone (https://bookshop.org/books/t-a-z-the-temporary-autonomous-zone-ontological-anarchy-poetic-terrorism/9781570271519) Entitled Opinions Podcast (https://entitledopinions.stanford.edu/episodes) William Gibson, Foreword to Samuel Delaney’s Dhalgren (https://bookshop.org/books/dhalgren/9780375706684) DISI Podcast, Many Minds (https://disi.org/manyminds/) John Krakauer (https://www.santafe.edu/people/profile/john-krakauer), professor of nuerology and neuroscience Hunter S. Thompson (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter_S._Thompson), American journalist The Great Ape Dictionary (https://greatapedictionary.ac.uk/), specific database used by Cat Hobaiter (https://zenodo.org/record/5600472#.Yxe3NOzMK_L)

Podparadise.com neither hosts nor alters podcast files. All content © its respective owners.